Unexpected Acne Treatments

Since I hit puberty, I had always had issues with my skin. Acne was a huge problem. It was pretty bad. I remember feeling ugly and embarrassed because almost every inch of my face was covered it. I even had some on my chest and back. To make things worse, I had braces too! Tough, I know.

Now that I’m an adult, my skin has done a 180. I picked up a lot of tips and tricks to clear up breakouts. Even though I still get a few little spots every now and again, but I don’t even sweat it. Here are a few unexpected ingredients that  I use to fight those pesky breakouts:

Tooth Paste Spot Treatment

black-woman-putting-on-skin-care-lotion

This works best when the toothpaste has gel in it instead of the white ones. It dries faster and works better if there is gel. Just put the paste on your spots before you go to bed and in the morning wash it off with warm water. It ma get on your pillow if you put it on just before bed, so I recommend that you put it on 15 to 20 minutes beforehand.

Banana, Honey, and Lemon Mask (or spot treatment)

diy-skin-care-treatments

This mixture is a little messy and sticky, but it works! All these ingredients have anti-oxidants and anti-bacterial properties. The Banana has tons of nutrients that helps nourish your skin, while the honey softens and reduces redness. The lemon will help with lightening of acne scars and also acts in killing bacteria.

Crush or pure the banana , then add about 1 table spoon of honey and 1/2 table spoon of fresh lemon juice for every half of banana. If you’re planning on spot treating your blemishes, only use half of the banana so you’re not wasting anything.  Let it dry and wash it off with warm water after 20 – 30 minutes.

Coalface from Lush

tumblr_inline_n2e068cmla1s8d1si

The benefits and how to use it as a mask or spot treatment in My Absolute Favorite Lush Products

Raw Garlic

tumblr_inline_o5mckaqbwt1tt63u1_1280-png-cf

Check out the benefits and how to use this as a spot treatment and many other uses for garlic in Why Garlic Should be Your Best Friend

Apple Cider Vinegar as a Toner

tumblr_ljx2y3pnvq1qgloxao1_500_large

This will clear express dirt and balance your PH level in your skin. You can also drink diluted in a glass of water. Drinking it will work as a detox treatment, which will ultimately help clear your skin as well.

If you wanted to use it as a toner, use 2 part water and 1 part water. If you want to drink it, it is recommended to drink about 1/4 apple cider vinegar and 1 to 1 1/2 cup of water.

 

For more all-natural beauty treatments, check out My Favorite DIY Home Beauty Remedies

