Summer ’16: Hustle and Flow

It’s the last weekend of August and I can’t help but to feel: “where did summer go?!” It feels like a week ago, my last exam was over and I was so excited to embark on an adventure. My first ‘real’ adult summer.

Looking back, I was so anxious to start my career and hit the ground running. I never really let myself relax. I felt like I should have had everything figured out right away. Applying to job after job, going into one interview after another, and getting a ton of rejection emails. When I finally got a full-time job, I found myself drained all the time and working absolutely EVERY weekend and evening.

tumblr_ngt44gsnry1ru4tifo1_500

Now it’s the end of summer and I can confidently say that I know that I was wrong about what I really wanted. I learned that I have to let myself relax and have fun. I don’t need to have to jump right into being an ‘adult’, stuck in a 9-5.

giphy

SO  with all of that being said, I thought I would share a list of what I learned in my first post-grad summer:

  1. Do not settle for jobs you accept, the treatment you accept from others, the way you spend your time, ect.
  2. SAVE MONEY!
  3. Wear more lipstick!
  4. Keep the people who make you feel easy to love close, and those who don’t at an arms length!
  5. Make time for the things that you ‘re passionate about! Make them a priority.

tumblr_inline_mh38ulsamv1qmqvzw

  1. VOLUNTEER, VOLUNTEER, VOLUNTEER
  2.  Working hard is great, but learn how to play hard – because you will find yourself burnt out really quickly.
  3. Life is too short to live someone else’s idea of what your life should be tumblr_n4jjqehwv71spwa2po1_500
  4. Love yourself in every single form! Embrace your failures as learning opportunities, and take pride in your accomplishments — no matter how small.

tumblr_mnpmjcc5mb1qjm9bpo1_50010. Surround yourself with friends that have the mindset, qualities and morals that you do have (or even hope to have).

Even though its the end of Summer ’16, I can confidently say that I did not waste it. Though I did not rest as much as I was theoretically supposed to — I learned a lot about life, love, and growing up!

